2019: Space for Europe, European Space in the World

Programme and speeches of the conference that took place in Brussels on 22 & 23 January 2019

Day 1 - Tuesday 22 January 2019

09:00 – 09:15 WELCOME MESSAGE

Special Address :
  • Didier Reynders, Deputy Minister, Minister of Foreign and European Affairs and Defence, Belgium
  • Elżbieta Bieńkowska, Commissioner for Internal Market, Industry, Entrepreneurship and SMEs, European Commission

09:15 – 10:15 ROUND TABLE

European Space Strategy: New Programme for 2030

  • Manuel Heitor, Minister for Science, Technology and Higher Education, Portugal
  • Massimiliano Salini, MEP, European Parliament
  • Johann-Dietrich Wörner, Director General, European Space Agency
  • Pierre Delsaux, Deputy Director-General, DG GROW, European Commission
  • Jean-Loïc Galle, President, Eurospace

10:15 – 10:45 Coffee Break

10:45 – 12:00 FIRST SESSION

European Digital Autonomy as a Strategic Goal : the Key Role of Connectivity, including SatCom, Digitalisation and A.I. in delivering Space Services

Guest Speaker :
  • Mariya Gabriel, Commissioner for Digital Economy and Society, European Commission
Q&A Panellists :
  • Carlos Zorrinho, MEP, European Parliament
  • Roberto Viola, Director-General, DG CNECT, European Commission
  • Carlo des Dorides, Executive Director, European GNSS Agency (GSA)
  • Magali Vaissiere, Director "Telecom and Integrated Applications", European Space Agency
  • Evert Dudok, President, ESOA
  • Rodolphe Belmer, CEO, Eutelsat
  • Christophe de Hauwer, Chief Strategy and Development Officer, SES
  • Jurry de la Mar, ‎Head of International Sales, T-Systems
  • Luigi Pasquali, CEO, Telespazio

12:00 – 13:00 SECOND SESSION

Paths for European Space Non-Dependence in the trade, competition and international contexts

Q&A Panellists :
  • Marian-Jean Marinescu, MEP, European Parliament
  • Matthias Petschke, Director, DG GROW, European Commission
  • Francisco Perez-Canado, Director, DG TRADE, European Commission
  • Angelos Pangratis, Economic Diplomacy Adviser, European External Action Service
  • Jean Max Puech, Director "Internal Services", European Space Agency
  • Jean-Loïc Galle, President and CEO, Thales Alenia Space
  • André-Hubert Roussel, CEO, ArianeGroup
  • Johannes von Thadden, Senior Vice-President, Head of Space and EU Institutions, Airbus Defence and Space

13:00 – 14:15 Lunch


Special Address :
  • Maroš Šefčovič, Vice-President, European Commission

14:30 – 16:15 THIRD SESSION

European Union Strategic Autonomy Space, Defence and Security Policies

Special Address :
  • Elżbieta Bieńkowska, Commissioner for Internal Market, Industry, Entrepreneurship and SMEs, European Commission
Opening Speech :
  • Eric Trappier, President of ASD - Chairman and CEO, Dassault Aviation
Q&A Panellists :
  • Jean Arthuis, MEP, Chairman of BUDG Committee
  • Françoise Grossetête, MEP, European Parliament
  • Jorge Domecq, Chief Executive, European Defence Agency
  • Tomasz Husak, Head of Cabinet of Commissioner Bieńkowska, European Commission
  • Nicolas Chamussy, Executive Vice-President “Space Systems”, Airbus Defence and Space
  • Lutz Bertling, CSMO/CDO, Member of the Management Board, OHB
  • Pascal Legai, Director, EU Satellite Centre
  • Kai-Uwe Schrogl, Chief Strategy Officer, European Space Agency

16:15 – 16:45 Coffee Break


TOPIC A : Space tools, Guardian Angels of Climate and Environment
Guest Speaker :
  • Gesine Meissner, Special Envoy of the President of the European Parliament on Maritime Policy
Q&A Panellists :
  • Daniel Calleja Crespo, Director-General, DG ENVI, European Commission
  • Mauro Facchini, Head of the Coprnicus Unit, DG GROW, European Commission
  • Arthur Runge-Metzger, Director, DG CLIMA, European Commission
  • Josef Aschbacher, Director "Earth Observation", European Space Agency
  • Alain Ratier, Director General, Eumetsat
  • Pierre Bahurel, Director General, Mercator Océan
  • Alexandre Tisserant, Director General, Kinéis
TOPIC B : The 2019 World Radiocommunication Conference: what is at stake for Europe?
Q&A Panellists :
  • Piero Benvenuti, Special Commissionner, Italian Space Agency
  • François Rivasseau, Ambassador, French Permanent Representative to the United Nations in Geneva
  • Magali Vaissiere, Director "Telecom and Integrated Applications", European Space Agency
  • Anthony Whelan, Director, DG CNECT, European Commission
  • Alexandre Vallet, Chief of Space Services Department, Radiocommunication Bureau, ITU
  • Piotr Dmochowski-Lipski, Executive Secretary, EUTELSAT IGO
  • Daniela Genta, Chair, ESOA Regulatory Working Group
TOPIC C : After EDIDP, European Defence Fund: new opportunities for European companies post-2021?
Q&A Panellists :
  • Norica Nicolai, MEP, European Parliament
  • Pierre Delsaux, Deputy Director-General, DG GROW, European Commission
  • Rolf Densing, Director “ Operations”, European Space Agency
  • Christine Francillon, Vice-President “Program director Safety & Security Solutions”, ArianeGroup
  • Ignacio Mataix, Executive Director T&D, Indra
  • Andrea Nativi, Senior Vice President of Market Analysis and EU/NATO Policies, Leonardo

Day 2 - Wednesday 23 January 2019

09:00 – 10:00 FIRST SESSION

Financing the ambitions of European Space

Q&A Panellists :
  • Etienne Schneider, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of the Economy and Trade, Grand Duchy of Luxembourg
  • Pedro Duque, Minister for Science, Innovation and Universities, President of ESA Ministerial Council, Spain
  • José Manuel Fernandes, MEP, European Parliament
  • Ambroise Fayolle, Vice-President for Financing Innovation, Science, Education, Digital, and Technology, European Investment Bank
  • Johann-Dietrich Wörner, Director General, European Space Agency
  • Gert Jan Koopman, Director-General, DG BUDG, European Commission
  • Guillaume De Dinechin, Deputy CEO, International Space Brokers, Aon

10:00 – 12:45 SECOND SESSION

Space 2030 : “New Frontiers” for the European Space Industry

10:00 – 11:00 FIRST ROUND :

Future developments in the European Space Industry
Q&A Panellists :
  • Daniel Neuenschwander, Director "Space Transportation", European Space Agency
  • Andreas Veispak, Head of Space Data for Societal Challenges and Growth Unit, European Commission
  • Stéphane Israël, CEO, Arianespace
  • Philippe Dewost, Director of Innovation and Foresight Platform Leonard, Vinci
  • Viktoria Otero Del Val, Senior Vice-President "Strategy, M&A and New Business Initiatives", Thales Alenia Space
  • Giulio Ranzo, CEO, Avio
  • Jana Rosenmann, Head of Unmanned Aerial Systems, Airbus Defence & Space
  • Hubert Tardieu, CEO Advisor, Atos
Closing Address :
  • Graham Turnock, Chief Executive, UK Space Agency

11:00 – 11:30 Coffee Break

11:30 – 12:45 SECOND ROUND :

Facilitating access to "New Frontiers" for European Industry
Q&A Panellists :
  • Pascale Ehrenfreund, CEO, DLR
  • Eric Morel de Westgaver, Director of Industry, Procurement and Legal Services, European Space Agency
  • Fabrice Comptour, Member of Cabinet of Elżbieta Bieńkowska, European Commission
  • Shiva Dustdar, Head of Division, Innovation Finance Advisory, European Investment Bank
  • Hélène Huby, Co-Founder, Global Space Ventures
  • Dominique Rora, Senior Space Underwriter, Axa XL
  • Marc Serres, CEO, Luxembourg Space Agency
  • Grazia Vittadini, CTO, Airbus

12:45 – 13:00 CLOSING ADDRESS

  • Geneviève Fioraso, President of the Advisory Board, European Space Policy Institute
  • Monika Hohlmeier, MEP, Chair, “Sky and Space” Intergroup, European Parliament