2016: Europe as a Global Space Player

Programme and speeches of the conference that took place in Brussels on 12 & 13 January 2016

Initiative under the High Patronage of Mister Jean-Claude Juncker, President of the European Commission

Day 1 - Tuesday 12 January 2016

09.00 – 09.30 WELCOME MESSAGE

  • Elżbieta Bieńkowska, Commissioner for Internal Market, Industry, Entrepreneurship and SMEs, European Commission
  • Thierry Mandon, Minister of State for Higher Education and Research, France
  • Jerzy Buzek, Chair, ITRE Committee, European Parliament
  • Johann-Dietrich Wörner, Director General, European Space Agency
  • Marco Fuchs, President, Eurospace

09.30 - 11.00 FIRST SESSION

Emergence of new paradigms of space markets

  • Monika Hohlmeier, Chair of Sky & Space Intergroup, European Parliament
  • Pierre Delsaux, Deputy Director-General, DG GROW, European Commission
  • François Auque, Head of Space Systems, Airbus Defence and Space
  • Jean-Loïc Galle, President and CEO, Thales Alenia Space
  • Luigi Pasquali, CEO, Telespazio
  • Pascale Ehrenfreund, Chair of the Executive Board, DLR (Germany)
  • Jean-Yves Le Gall, President, CNES (France)

11.00 – 12.00 SECOND SESSION

Perspectives and stakes of new generations of satellites

  • Marian-Jean Marinescu, MEP, European Parliament
  • Matthias Petschke, Director, DG GROW, European Commission
  • Michel de Rosen, President and CEO, Eutelsat
  • Marco Fuchs, CEO, OHB
  • Alain Ratier, Director-General, Eumetsat
  • Alice Bunn, Director of Policy, UK Space Agency

12.00 – 13.00 THIRD SESSION

Upheavals in sight in the launchers’ market

  • Franck Proust, MEP, European Parliament
  • Philippe Brunet, Director, DG GROW, European Commission
  • Gaele Winters, Director of Launchers, European Space Agency
  • Alain Charmeau, CEO, Airbus Safran Launchers
  • Stephane Israël, Chairman and CEO, Arianespace
  • Antonio Abad, CTO, Hispasat

13.00 – 14.30 Lunch

14.30 – 16.00 FOURTH SESSION

Big Data management for competitive European downstream sectors

  • Cora van Nieuwenhuizen, MEP, European Parliament
  • Philippe Brunet, Director, DG GROW, European Commission
  • Volker Liebig, Director of Earth Observation, European Space Agency
  • Jurry de la Mar, Director, T-Systems International
  • Laurent Maury, Vice President, Thales Group
  • Carlos Suarez, Executive Vice President, INDRA
  • Roberto Battiston, President, ASI (Italy)

16.00 – 16.30 Coffee break

16.30 – 18.00 FIFTH SESSION

“Juncker Fund” and EU funding support to R&D projects and innovation

  • Jean Arthuis, Chair, BUDG Committee, European Parliament
  • Christian Ehler, Vice-Chair, Subcommittee on Security and Defence, European Parliament
  • Harald Gruber, Head of the Digital Economy Division, EIB
  • Carlo des Dorides, Executive Director, European GNSS Agency (GSA)
  • Han Wensink, Chairman, EARSC
  • Jean-Jacques Tortora, Secretary General, Eurospace


  • Monika Hohlmeier, Chair of Sky & Space Intergroup, European Parliament

Day 2 - Wednesday 13 January 2016

09.00 – 09.15 WELCOME MESSAGE

  • Maroš Šefčovič, Vice-President, European Commission

09:15 - 11:00 SIXTH SESSION

SatCom industry: a new policy for new needs

  • Clare Moody, MEP, European Parliament
  • Roberto Viola, Director-General, DG CNECT, European Commission
  • Rupert Pearce, Chair, ESOA
  • Magali Vaissiere, Director of Telecommunications and Integrated Applications, European Space Agency
  • Greg Wyler, Chairman and Founder, OneWeb
  • Karim Michel Sabbagh, President and CEO, SES
  • Evert Dudok, Executive Vice-President, Airbus Defence and Space
  • Eric Fournier, Chairman, Electronic Communications Committee, CEPT

11.00 – 11.15 Coffee Break

11.15 - 12.45 SEVENTH SESSION

What place to give to space tools and satellites data in the future European Security and Defence Policy?

  • Anna Elżbieta Fotyga, Chair, Subcommittee on Security and Defence, European Parliament
  • Stefano Manservisi, Head of Cabinet of the High Representative of the EU Foreign Affairs & Security Policy
  • Philippe Brunet, Director, DG GROW, European Commision
  • Jorge Domecq, Chief Executive, European Defence Agency
  • Riadh Cammoun, Vice President, Alenia Space
  • Jean-Pierre Serra, Vice-President Defense and Security, Airbus Defence and Space
  • Jesús B. Serrano, CEO, GMV

12.45 - 13.00 CLOSING ADDRESS

  • Antonio Tajani, Vice-President, European Parliament
  • Lowri Evans, Director-General, DG GROW, European Commission